Fried Deliciousness

You can pretty much fry anything and have it taste great, so when confronted with a few yellow squash and no good plan, I pulled down my trusty deep frier.

I totally thought that the kids would eat this, but Eleanor has been leading the “No New Foods” parade, and Cosmo has been tagging along, literally repeating her refusals VERBATIM.  Not like that’s annoying or anything.

I served these with some pesto and tomato, and we made little fried zucchini stacks, and they were wonderful. The basic frying technique is below, but you do need something else to do with these besides eat them plain. They would go well as a layer in a sandwich, or into some sort of fried veggie taco.

Now I need to go for a jog…

  • 2 yellow squash sliced 1/4 ” thick
  • egg
  • 2 C panko
  • enough peanut oil for frying

In a bowl, beat the egg. Put panko on a plate and season with salt and pepper. Get your oil nice and hot (about 350). Coat squash in egg and then panko and fry until golden brown. Remove from oil to a paper towel to remove some of the oil and serve!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in summer squash. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment