Potato and Leek Soup

Potato leek soup is pretty much the epitome of comfort food for me. It benefits from boiling for a while, so I made it last night after putting the kids to bed in preparation for serving it today. With the days ending earlier, and a cool breeze coming in through the windows, making the soup had a feeling of rightness that I hadn’t quite achieved since school started for real and we started all going in a billion different directions. Standing in the darkening kitchen, I had a few delicious sips right out of the blender before putting the rest away for dinner tonight. Soup heals.

Of course the spell was completely broken when I endeavored to actually feed it to my kids, who reacted as though I was obviously trying to poison them, and would only consent to eat it with promises of chocolate for dessert.

They’ll get it someday. I hope.

Leeks are mild, and so I figure you need at least a few good sized ones, but don’t worry about overdoing it. If you have more to use up, just throw them in!

  • 3 large leeks (white and light green parts only), cleaned, and chopped
  • 2 russet potatoes, or one russet and a handful of whatever other kind you have around, peeled and chopped
  • 2 Tbs butter
  • Stock
  • Splash cream

Saute leeks in butter over medium low for 25 mins. Add potatoes, and enough stock to cover them and set it to boil. Cover and simmer for at least 30 mins more. Blend until smooth. Add a splash of cream, if desired and serve.

It goes great with chives, if you have any handy, but I never do, so I just serve as is.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in leek, potato. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

