Post Christmas Review

So, where were we?

I didn’t really mean to take that long of a break, but then the holidays happened, and they were really fun, and I ate a lot of meals that I didn’t prepare, and so there wasn’t much to report.

In family developments, Cosmo has started doing the funniest thing. When he’s been quiet for a while, invariably we’ll call out to him to see what is up. In what I’m guessing is an effort to forestall any additional communication, after we call his name, his one word response is now, “Nothing!” So several time a day you’ll hear this in my house:

“Hey, Cosmo?”

“Nothing!”

This kept us sufficiently entertained for most of the Christmas break.

For Christmas even dinner, I busted out my crown rack of lamb and used this surprisingly killer Alton Brown recipe. Alton assumed that you have to tie your own rack. I guess he doesn’t know Kent and the crew at Old Fashioned Country Butcher. It came out perfect, and I felt totally smug about it.

Screen shot 2013-01-18 at 11.25.36 AM

Since Christmas, we’ve been eating penitentially – less fat, less meat, less cream. Even training for a half marathon was not enough to compensate for a full month of just shoving whatever I wanted into my gullet. So we decided to get very veggie-centric for a while and aim for fresh flavors, and less of everything. Ottolenghi has been a useful guide for this project so far.

Oh, but speaking of Ottolenghi, there was a great article about him in the New Yorker Food Issue (which is about 2 months old now, but I am perpetually behind with my reading, so). In it, I was stunned to find this gem:

“I told Yotam, ‘We haven’t got the right customers here yet. We have your most boring fans, the food bloggers and the ladies over fifty…’”

Most boring! Who does your PR? Seriously, just as a general rule, try not to insult people who give you free press, no matter how true your statement may actually be. It should read, “I told Yotam, ‘We only have a small portion of your most dedicated fans coming in right now, the bloggers and the women over 50, and to be successful we really need to diversify our menu and attract a wider customer base.’” There. Fixed it for you. (Call me!)

Despite having nearly bored myself right to death, I went ahead and made Ottolenghi’s celery salad, and it didn’t even taste like spite. It was quite good, actually (no surprise), even though I am apparently completely unable to successfully poach an egg any longer. I went for years only ever making perfect eggs, and suddenly in the last month everything has gone completely to hell and they are entirely over- or under- cooked.

Screen shot 2013-01-18 at 11.12.36 AM

Also, sorry for the fast Instagram shots. It was a busy holiday season folks. For proof, click here. That’s a 4 year old skiing, and it was so much fun to watch – until he got over exhausted and ran himself adorably right into the fence (everyone is fine – fortunately he can’t really go very fast)…

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in celery, eggs, lamb project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

