Ramen, Part Two

In boring family news, we got a new car. Although I had been happily driving my 1996 Volvo 850 into the ground for well over a decade, as it got less and less reliable, it felt like time to move on. So we went the predictable suburban young family route and got the Odyssey. I like it because it feels like I can open the doors with my mind. Other than that I feel vaguely sheepish about it. I might feel less so, but at practically the same time we got the Odyssey, a good friend of mine (who is also a mom), got a used Porsche 911. That was an awkward conversation.

Their purchase prompted Sam and I to have the “what is your dream car” conversation. And here’s the thing: given where we live, the age of our kids and all that, my dream car is actually a Honda Odyssey minivan. Most days, this feels like a massive failure of imagination. Occasionally, it feels like success.

Image

In food news, the pork continues to be most excellent. Nothing will make you feel quite so smug as pulling a pork shoulder roast out of the oven and discovering that despite only seasoning it with salt and sugar, it is one of the best tasting things you have ever made. This is one of the lessons of the buying meat locally experiment – if you start with excellent meat, all you really have to do is not mess it up.

Having had Jet’s faithful rendering of David Chang’s recipe, I felt free to make ramen my own way. This meant Top Ramen Noodles (because really, why not?), scallions, cilantro, pork shoulder, sauteed savoy cabbage, that pre-roasted seaweed stuff, eggs that didn’t even kind of turn out as planned (but that didn’t matter AT ALL), and my excellent broth. And it was killer. A++ would cook again.

In still other food news, Jet and I have a lead on poultry. We’re considering potentially putting together a buyer’s club for a local grower. We’ll post details here as they come.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in pork project, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

