The Most Improbable Cranberry Relish Recipe Ever

Cranberry Relish

The most improbable cranberry relish recipe ever is my friend’s mom’s brother-in-law’s mother’s from the 1950s, and it even beats that one that they read each year on NPR for utter strangeness.

I grew up eating cranberry from a can, and since cooking my own Thanksgiving have sought each year to find a recipe that uses fresh berries and tastes more interesting. Each year I make something that I don’t hate, but never something that I would be excited to make again.

So I went to Jet to see what she knew, and she said that the best cranberry relish was super simple. “You just dump in an orange, a lemon, a lime and an apple and grind it all up.” “Oh, that sounds great,” I said, but what I was thinking was more like, “There’s no way.”

Jet sent me the recipe later, and we just had to talk about it. By admitting that she knew it sounded like an utter disaster, she convinced me to at least try it. Really, if you make this, and every fiber of your being isn’t screaming that it will never work, you’re doing it wrong.

This recipe will be the true test of the quality of your food processor. By the time I had gotten done making the relish, Sam had done enough googling to find a good deal on a Breville food processor, in the hopes that he would never have to listen to that much grinding ever again.

Also fair warning: this makes enough to feed a small army. I ended up freezing some to serve with cheese for a Christmas plate.

Mabel Jeldy’s Cranberry Relish

1 package of fresh cranberries
1 lime
1 lemon
1 orange
1 apple, cored, stem removed
1 cup of toasted pecans
1 cup of assorted white dried fruit

Pulverize everything (peels and all) in your food processor.  Work in batches if you need to and combine everything in a bowl.  Season to taste with salt and, if you think it isn’t sweet enough, a little honey.

Up next: Jet schools me in beans and greens.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in cranberry sauce, thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Most Improbable Cranberry Relish Recipe Ever

  1. William L Wilson says:

    Oops, found a spelling error in your title. 🙂 One of the Bs flew away.

Leave a Reply

