Kitchen Remodel and Other Projects

It’s time for the big reveal! Time for everyone to ooh and ah and generally agree that it was totally worth it.

Before

After

In case it isn’t totally clear, we removed two walls. Although that set of cabinets in the right most side of the first pic looks like it could plausibly be part of the kitchen, there was, in fact, a wall separating it completely from everything else kitchen-esque. When we first saw the house it was pretty clear that the kitchen could be awesome, but honestly, I didn’t even expect it to be as great as it turned out to be.

I haven’t been talking about the remodel much because what is there to say? Fully half of our belongings were without places for a month, and I had to wash dishes in the bathroom. And while, yes, I hated every last second of it, I’m also smart enough to know that if your biggest problem on any given day is that you have to wash dishes with your hot clean running water in a different room from the one you are used to, you should probably just stuff it.

My absolute favorite part of the remodel is the new walnut counter top that Sam built. I love it because it is deeply deeply beautiful, and also because it has Sam’s work all over it. It is custom, and perfect, and really, just look at it. The fact that Eleanor whacked her head against it less than five minutes after it was installed, and well before Sam had a chance to soften the edges with a sander, and ended up with three staples in her scalp after what felt like an interminable trip to the doctor did slightly dim my enthusiasm, however. I did go out an buy those edge protectors for toddlers (!) pretty much immediately after we got back from the doctor. Poor kid. It was rather traumatic for her. That whole numbing cream business seemed to be less than thoroughly effective.

In other news, I signed up for a half marathon in February. Don’t worry, I have no intention of turning this into a running blog. I read some running blogs that I genuinely enjoy, but I’m continually struck by how little there is to say about running itself – went for a run, felt some feelings about it, the end. I signed up because I needed a goal – something to drag me out of the torpor that the chaos of the remodel has induced, and this seemed likely to do the trick. I am already behind on my 12 week training program though, so it’s not working yet.

Finally, I did cook Thanksgiving this year, but mostly I did exactly the same stuff I always do, so there isn’t much to report. Thanks to Jet, I did make one new recipe, and I have to share it because it is the most improbable cranberry recipe you’ve ever seen, and also totally, unbelievably delicious. It will be coming up next.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in meyer lemon, thanksgiving, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kitchen Remodel and Other Projects

  1. tyler93023 says:

    Your kitchen looks spectacular. Is that the set for your new cooking show?

Leave a Reply

