Mixed Grill

Maybe a decade or so ago my Father-in-Law lived in Brazil, and Sam and I went down for a visit. One of our evenings there, he took us for dinner at a Churrascaria. It was this sort of mind-blowing experience where waiters with large skewers of meat would swing by the table and cut up something for you, and every time you looked up another waiter was ready with a new confusing meat, that you might maybe recognize, but it’s hard to tell because of all the Portuguese. I remember really loving every second and also swearing on all that was holy that I would never in my life eat that much meat in one sitting ever again.

And mostly I have maintained this resolution. But when Jet proposed a mixed grill night to welcome Sam home and celebrate our purchases, I couldn’t resist.

Jet, having participated in the Jolly Oyster’s birthday bash last August, received a credit of as many oysters and clams as even the most enthusiastic shellfish eater could consume in a year. So we began the feast with those. We also ate chops (both lamb and pork), pork shoulder, lamchetta, and mini burgers. Jet brought octovin and chimichurri to serve with the meats, both of which were incredible.

Things I learned from the experience:

1) Really, a grill and a blender are all you need for an excellent meal. Jet continues to be right about this even though I am still keeping things as simple as possible while the kitchen reno is underway by buying dinner at Whole Foods.

2) A trip to meet the lamb lady is in order. That meat was crazy good.

3) If you actually have some dry-aged ground beef on hand, and you are still adding things to your burgers for flavor, or even really topping them with anything, you are doing it wrong. I had no idea ground beef could be that good.

4) Lambchetta is nuts, and also very very delicious.

For anyone who might be concerned about the lack of vegetables, Jet did bring some of the cutest pickles ever as well. She had just made them, and had to share. Are these not the cutest pickles ever made by anyone?

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in lamb project, pork project. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mixed Grill

  1. jetdoye says:

    What a fun night! I am really glad Sam is home. Mainly for you and for him and for the kids and for the kitchen, but also for me because he likes to talk more than you do. 😉 Also? 5) Chicken thighs clearly want to be marinated in tare.

    Sent from my iPad

    • Oh I cannot believe I forgot about the tare marinated chicken! It was a revelation, for sure. Also illustrates nicely why I should not wait a week to post about our adventures. And I would hate to get into a contest with Sam about who appreciates your conversation more. Let’s just say that when you come over we all win.

  2. Tammy says:

    Yes, those are absolutely the cutest pickles ever!

Leave a Reply

