Merguez

You have probably heard the whole thing about not asking how the sausage gets made? Well, I’m here to tell you to just hang that ish up right now because knowing how sausage gets made is downright awesome.

Jet and I decided to give up our ground lamb in favor of Merguez. I had been really curious about it since reading a recipe spread by Suzanne Goin in Sunset Magazine where Merguez is the centerpiece. And Jet has had a thing for North African cuisine for some time. So Jet hatched a plan to beg Kent to let us try to season our own Merguez, and to my surprise Kent went for it. Like I said before, he seemed to be in some serious pain from a back injury that day. He might have been delirious. I don’t expect that this is something that he usually goes for anyway.

Here are the ingredients:

Sheep’s Casings
Kosher Salt
Ground Fennel Seeds
Ground Corriander Seeds
Chipotle Chili Powder
Ground Cayenne Pepper
Ancho Chili Powder
Ground Cumin Seeds
Ground Caraway Seeds
Dried Red Cili Flakes
Sweet Paprika
Sugar
Ground Black Pepper
Lamb Trimmings
Finely Chopped Jalapeño
Finely Chopped Red Onion
Finely Chopped Minced Garlic
Water
Finely Chopped Fresh Oregano
Finely Chopped Scallion
Finely Chopped cilantro

The crew ran the whole deal through the grinder a couple of times and then into casings. And frankly, the casings are the only part that I still don’t get and might potentially squick me out a bit. Perhaps don’t ask how the casings get made?

Anyway, here’s what it looked like

Makes me wish I knew how to animate pictures or something.

Also, in following up with the last lamb post, the distinction between lamchetta and lamcetta is that the first is the lamb version of porchetta, and the second is the lamb version of pancetta. But since literally nobody ever gets either, there isn’t a highly developed terminology around these cuts. The lamb has not seen the same culinary treatment we have given the pig, I guess.

Meanwhile, we grilled some chops last weekend, and it is hands down the best lamb I have ever had. I’m so grateful to have it and so excited to try some roasts!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in lamb project and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

