In Which the Meat thing Gets a Bit Out Of Control

So far in this animal buying process, Jet has been the voice of reason. When Kent first tried to sell us on a lamb, I was ready to jump all in, but Jet very reasonably said that perhaps we ought to get comfortable with our hog before we went about buying more animals. Ditto when Lefty tried to sell us a goat (People, he has goats! Aren’t you so curious to try one?) and when we started talking to cattle ranchers. So when Kent circled back around to the lamb thing a couple weeks ago, I kept my mouth closed and immediately called Jet. But when she said that she was into it, I did a little dance of joy. Getting meat this way is seriously great, and I was so excited to do more of it even though I’ve barely begun with my hog.

Our lamb came from a woman in Moorpark who is married to a veterinarian, and together they raise a small herd of lambs every year. This year, one of her buyers had backed out extremely late (like after the lamb was already at Old Fashioned Country Butcher), and we got lucky by walking in at the right time.

It was a bit of a rush to work out exactly what to do with the meat in terms of cuts. As you can guess, there are a number of options here, and instead of having weeks to ponder, we had a couple days. Jet went to town with her Whole Beast Butchery book though, and came up with a great plan for each of us. Fortunately the guys at OFCB are absolutely the best, and  I was finally able to get my crown roast prize. Jet got some things that she calls Lamchetta and Lamcetta, and I honestly don’t know what is what there, but perhaps I can convince her to explain herself in an upcoming post. Really, I was just so moony looking over at my beautifully Frenched rack that I missed some details.

I got:

  • Bone-in shoulder
  • Bone-in leg
  • Crown Roast
  • Shanks
  • Some loin meat for grilling that I can’t quite explain, but will look into
  • 5 packs sausage
  • Belly, which Jet took and has some plans for that I also don’t understand but trust will be awesome.

We also somehow managed to talk Kent into letting us season our own merguez sausage, and the only way I can even explain that is that Kent had recently hurt his back, and must have been delirious. I’m going to get a list of the seasonings and post them here along with pics in an upcoming post.

Meanwhile, enjoy butchery pics below.

Frenching the rack

How to tie a roast – so helpful to see how they do it!

Getting packed up

 

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in lamb project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

