Where Have I Been Anyway

So I’ve been relatively quiet in my little part of the blogosphere for a while largely because I just haven’t been cooking. And the main reason I haven’t been cooking was that I had no one to cook for. (No, the kids do not count. Talk to me about it when they are adults.) Sam spent the last two months at the Collegeville Institute doing some intensive writing. And I pretty well subscribe to the for-the-love-of-God-don’t-publicize-your-absences-on-the-internet school of internet protocol, so I haven’t even wanted to share the fact that Sam was gone and I wasn’t cooking. All this to say that I am intensely grateful to Jet for sharing her writing here and keeping the discussion lively in Sam’s absence.

The other big news is this:

– the kitchen remodel is finally underway! (Yes, we let the kids draw on the wall before we took it down.)

It’s a little hard to see here, and hopefully I’ll be able to throw together a post on what we did when it is all actually done, but essentially, our house had a small U shaped kitchen with a hall and more cabinets on the other side of the bottom of the U. We’re knocking out the bottom part of the U (where the tree is in the above pic) and one of the sides to both make the kitchen bigger/more functional and to open it up to the great room next to it.

Here is where I pause to reflect on just how grateful I am that Sam is both capable of and willing to tackle construction projects. Seriously. It is so cool to see him working on the house, and he is so good at it, and yesterday a dessicated rat fell out of the ceiling onto his head and instead of just giving up (which would have been my strategy) he laughed at it, and all of that put together makes me insanely happy, which helps because also living without walls feels really unsettling.

To my way of thinking, no walls or stove means that I just call Three Amigos every night and we deal. But Jet has almost convinced me that thinking this way when I have a functioning grill and somewhere in the neighborhood of 125 lbs of delicious meat in the freezer is utter insanity. She’s threatening to follow me around reading Seven Fires out loud if I persist in this deluded way of thinking. And she’s not wrong, but what can I say? The kitchen remodel has thrown me off my game. I’ll probably try to grill some sausage this weekend, but I’m not promising much.

Why is there suddenly 125lbs? Well, good people of the internet, we got a lamb! More on the how/why in the next post along with an in-depth look at how the sausage gets made. (Spoiler Alert- Despite what you may have heard, it’s not gross!)

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Meta. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where Have I Been Anyway

  1. Vicki Ayers says:

    Welcome back! I was thinking, Jet should cook for you during this time of inconvenience.

Leave a Reply

