I Was Exhausted and Stressed Out and I Made a Pizza

You should too.

Since I last blogged, there have been a few nights of Panda Express or whatever, which I’m not going to even apologize for, because after swim class then rushing to dance class then getting home late with two strung out kids, even the simple act of putting broccoli beef on a plate is almost beyond my capabilities.

But the real stress in the last few weeks has the home move we are trying to accomplish. We put our house on the market in the hopes of moving closer to our work, and lucky us, we found a buyer! Buy I went from “yay, we’re moving” to “OMG we’re homeless in a month” in about a nanosecond, and spent a full week feeling like I might vomit. Today, things are somewhat more stable. We have a really good, really exciting plan. It could all come crashing down at any second, of course, and I will not be getting comfortable at any point between now and May 20th. But beyond all my reasonable expectations, it’s starting to look like May 21 will be an awesome day. I can’t wait to share it.

On to the food.

Cauliflower puree is just the best stuff on earth, and with a lovely CSA cauliflower in the box this week, I was inspired to use it as a pizza sauce. But I could eat this stuff with a spoon. Every day. I’m just looking for an excuse to make it again, because YUM.

  • 1 pizza dough
  • 1 small head cauliflower
  • 1/4 (or slightly more) cream
  • 5 slices prosciutto
  • 1 medium onion
  • arugula

Cut cauliflower into florets then steam until meltingly tender. I did this for about 35 minutes. Add it to a food processor with cream, salt, and pepper, and process until smooth. Depending on the size of your cauliflower, you may want to add more cream. The goal is to make a nice thick pizza sauce.

Slice, then saute onions in a bit of butter until they are soft and sweet, about 10 minutes. Chop the prosciutto. Assemble the pizza, leaving off the arugula. Bake 18 minutes at 425 (or whatever your favorite method is), top with arugula and serve.

 

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in arugula, cauliflower, oranges. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Was Exhausted and Stressed Out and I Made a Pizza

  1. inherchucks says:

    This looks delish! Love arugula, cauliflower, prosciutto…match made in heaven! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  2. Tammy says:

    Love that you did this with cauliflower puree!

Leave a Reply

