Salmon with Deliciousness

As part of my CSA, there’s this program where one of the farmers will go into the schools and teach the kids about nutrition and vegetables. The woman who teaches the in-school program is very very good at her job, and she somehow manages to get kids to eat things like chard and kale smoothies and roasted beets without making retching noises or referring to their portion as a “thank you bite.” I feel like I need her at my house twice daily, because Eleanor is on a full-on food rejection campaign.

This CSA program reminds me a bit of when Nell was three and was afraid of the pool and nothing Sam or I could do would encourage her to jump in, or put her face in the water or anything. So we signed her up for swim lessons, and suddenly jumping in the pool was the most fun thing ever. It’s amazing what strangers can get your kids to do.

(It occurs to me that I may have just written the best argument against home-schooling ever. And I wasn’t even trying.)

OK, but seriously, we have two meals a day at home, and I am not totally sure how to break this pattern? As a Feldenkrais practitioner, I am used to the idea that the locus of the issue is not the place where you actually feel the pain. Basically, if your knee hurts, it’s time to look at your hip or your ankle and see what is going on there that is contributing to the pain because at least seven times out of ten the origin of the problem is not where you feel it. So I was already thinking that the food-rejection was really about something else – autonomy, control maybe? I wasn’t sure. I brought it up to a girlfriend last night, and she said that she thought it was about not getting enough sleep. We currently get 10.5 hours per night, but she thought getting 11 might solve it. In physical terms it’s like saying that your knee hurts because you are breathing wrong. I never would have gotten there on my own. But I’m willing to give it a try. Because this is miserable.

All this is prelude to the OMG WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU DON’T LIKE SALMON LAST WEEK IT WAS YOUR FAVORITE thing that happened when I served this meal. Let’s see if 11 hours/night helps clear that nonsense up.

  • 8 oz cream
  • 1/4 C stock
  • 2 lemons
  • 8 oz bowtie pasta
  • 2 C chopped arugula
  • 1 C frozen peas
  • Salmon filets for 4

Rub a little EVOO and salt and pepper on salmon and cook on grill.

Cook pasta according to package directions.

In a small saucepan, mix cream and stock, the zest of one lemon, and the juice of 1.5 lemons. Season with  salt and pepper and bring to a boil. Let simmer 10 minutes.

When pasta is done cooking, return it to the pan with the peas, arugula and juice of the remaining 1/2 lemon. Make sure everything is warm, but don’t spend time re-cooking the pasta. Add half the cream mix to the pasta.

To serve, put a piece of salmon on each plate with a couple spoonfulls of the cream mix over top. Serve pasta on the side. Devour it because it is crazy good news.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in arugula, pasta. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Salmon with Deliciousness

  1. Tammy says:

    I love the idea of the CSA farmer coming to your kids’ school. I’d really like that and maybe I should just ask!

Leave a Reply

