Good Exercise Blogs

Some time ago, I promised to write up a quick post on the fitness blogs that I like. As I mentioned, my Google reader is filling up more with health and exercise blogs and less with style blogs. I guess this is me realizing that while I will never be especially stylish, there’s at least an outside chance that I can be fit.

I eat to be healthy, I workout to be healthy, and I have a super low tolerance for orthorexia. So I tend to look for blogs that are written by people who aren’t afraid to admit that they drink occasionally or maybe eat pork rinds. I also want blogs that are informative, inspiring, and compellingly written. And written by women. Here’s my short list:

Happy Fit Mama: I’ve mentioned Angela here before. She really knows her way around exercise physiology, and is worth checking out. I have made some modifications/additions to my workout routines based on her posts, and they were all for the better.

Eat, Drink and be Meiri: Honestly, Rose is pretty intense. Half the time, I’m not even sure that the blog is in English because I don’t totally understand all her exercises. That said, she is super inspiring. She works out hard and lets us know that it’s not all rainbows and confetti. I’d totally do pull-ups with her if I ever met her.

Eat, Drink, and Run: When people talk about someone being a natural runner, Shelby is who they are talking about. She makes it seem easy. Her alcohol reviews are also fun. But it was this very well-written post that got her added to my Google reader.

Rose Runner: Smart, fast, inspiring. What more do you need? I especially like that she posts her opinion openly. It makes her blog really fun to read.

Ready, Set, Feast: Kelsey has great energy, and she is entertaining and fun to interact with on-line. (Also, she hosts killer giveaways, which are always fun.) I’m looking forward to seeing how her marathon goes.

I hope you enjoy these ladies as much as I do!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in this has nothing to do with food. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Good Exercise Blogs

  1. Thanks for the shout out girlfriend! Unfortunately no one sponsors my nonsense! just me, myself and I! 🙂

  2. Ah, cool! I’ll amend my post (don’t want to confuse my 18 readers!). Mostly, I just couldn’t figure out how you were managing to have so many awesome giveaways so soon after starting up, but clearly it is just because you are good at making connections!

  3. Tammy says:

    I’m off to check them out. Thanks for the post.

  4. Roserunner says:

    I’m in good company! I love rose and Shelby. And I love a good cooking/recipe blog, so I’m happy to find you!

  5. solomon says:

    i love this post. i will love you to add my blog to this list too. http://www.fithealthywealthylife.blogspot.com

  6. Good blogs! Thanks for sharing…

  7. Susan says:

    I had never heard of Orthorexia before; I know this is an older post but I just had to say thank you. And thank you for the blog recommendations! (BTW I am sure you have more than 18 readers 🙂

Leave a Reply

