Valentine’s Day is a Contest and I am Losing

A quick sampling of things my children got in their Valentine Card bags:

  • Homemade sugar cookies dipped in chocolate
  • Personalized M&M’s in tins
  • Krispy Treats cut into hearts and covered with pink sprinkles
  • Homemade art/coloring kits
  • A zillion goodie bags, each containing a wide variety of candy and trinkets and individually tied up with pink ribbon

What we gave out:

Target Valentine cards with tattoos and Dove chocolates

Am I wrong in thinking that even my measly attempt at participating in the Valentine shenanigans is still more than we used to do when I was in school? When did homemade and/or handmade treats become the rule? How is it that every single mom on earth somehow knows what to do and I don’t?

Maybe this has something to do with my general ambivalence about Valentine’s day? I mean, I’ll use any excuse to have some nice chocolate and wine, but I actively dislike all the other nonsense around the day. I tell Sam to just not bother. So I’m not exactly predisposed to want to make up a bunch of crap with the kids to give out. But I still suspect that the stay at home moms are meeting in some secret location plotting ways to shame me.

What I made for Valentine’s Day dinner was pink. So it was, you know, thematic.

  • 8 oz. pasta
  • 1 – 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 1/2 C vermouth
  • 1 14 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 C heavy cream
  • zest of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 16oz bag large cooked shrimp, thawed

Cook pasta according to package directions. In a large saucepan, melt butter over medium heat, then add garlic. Saute 1 – 2 minutes, and add vermouth. Heat vermouth to boiling, and let some of the liquid boil off. Add tomato sauce and cream. Stir in lemon zest and shrimp and heat through. Serve with some grated parm over the top. Serves 4.

UPDATE: If you are very concerned about canned tomatoes and BPA, you can substitute two fresh tomatoes, chopped instead of the can. You will have to let them cook for a while longer to get some of the liquid off, but the taste should be about the same.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in pasta. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Valentine’s Day is a Contest and I am Losing

  1. Tammy says:

    Hang in there. I come up against it HARD all the time. Birthday parties are over the top. I’m with you in your thinking, thematic!

    • Birthday parties are the worst! We managed to opt out of the goodie bag arms-race at my son’s party by ordering Scholastic books and then letting each guest choose one to take home. That was the part of the birthday that I managed to do right. Maybe it was the only part. But I’m getting used to failing at events now. If only I could get over caring about my many failures…

Leave a Reply

