Weekend Fun

Sam ran a 5K over the weekend. He hasn’t done a ton of running recently. Whereas I am running 4 days a week, and doing strength/cardio (thanks to Jillian Michaels) another 2, Sam hasn’t really been that consistent with exercise. So the night before the race I asked him if he was ready to run. “I’m aiming for 24 minutes or better” he said, half jokingly. I snorted my wine and told him that he was nuts if he thought he was going to get off the couch and run it even close to that fast.

And then he finished in 26:30. It’s not a killer time, but considering that he did zero training, it’s pretty impressive. I mean, I haven’t done three miles that fast yet despite actually trying. I’d be annoyed, but I’m too busy being his biggest fan.

Congrats to Sam and all the runners/walkers for Team Jarvis who collectively raised over $4,300 toward Pancreatic Cancer Research and the Lustgarten Foundation! Team Jarvis came in 4th in overall fundraising, and the event earned $130,000. It was a great event, and because the Lustgarten Foundation’s administrative expenses are covered in full by Cablevision, 100% of the donations went to pancreatic cancer research.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in this has nothing to do with food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

