Roasted Chickpeas

What is it about Pinterest? How is it that absolutely everything on that site looks so utterly appealing? When I first started there, I pinned a bunch of recipes that I later un-pinned because I discovered that despite the gorgeous photography that had me salivating on my laptop, the recipes didn’t actually work all that well. Sometimes I feel like I am pinning fantasies rather than anything I actually want to remember and use. I guess maybe that’s the point?

But yesterday, one of the pins translated into real life in a way that wasn’t a hollow disappointment! A recipe had been floating around for roasted chickpeas, and I decided to try it out for my half-hearted attempt to make anything at all to eat while the Superbowl played. We might have been into the Superbowl, but the Packers weren’t in it, so it was more of a background noise/excuse to have an extra couple of beers event than anything else.

Here’s the link to the original recipe.

The whole thing couldn’t possibly have been easier – roast canned chickpeas at 450 for 30 minutes, and then drizzle with EVOO and some salt and spices. I found that 30 minutes was a bit too long (or 450 was too high, whichever) in my oven, and I would recommend remembering to check in at about minute 25, just to be safe. While the salt/sugar/cinnamon combo was good, I would have preferred something more along the lines of cayenne, or cumin, or sage, or rosemary. In addition to being good snacks, they work great as salad toppers and I will definitely be doing this again when I need to bring a fancy salad somewhere.

As for the kids? Eleanor ate two, and couldn’t be encouraged to eat any more even though she conceded that they were tasty enough. Cosmo ate every last one that we allowed him to eat. Typical.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roasted Chickpeas

  1. Pinterest is so addicting! It must be the little pictures or something.

    Btw, I tagged you for the 11 Random Things. Don’t feel obligated to do it but it’s kind of fun! 🙂

  2. I’ve made roasted chick peas before and they turned out dreadful. The texture was weird and they just got really hard you could barely bit into it. Maybe ill try this one!

    I have the same issue with pinterest too, i will tell you thought i made this the other day http://www.dainty-chef.com/2011/12/crockpot-chicken-enchilada-soup.html
    and it was SO Good. i guess that’s the risk of trying recipes!

    • Oh, I’ve seen that enchilada soup recipe pinned all over the place! I’ll have to give it a shot. I do love my crockpot.

      The chickpeas were great. I wanted to do it again just yesterday for a salad, and was really disappointed when I saw that we were out of cans! I wish I could explain why this recipe worked, but I’ll have to leave that to someone like Alton Brown…

Leave a Reply

