Aloo Gobi

Today being the first day of February, I thought I might give an accounting of where I am with this year’s goals. It had occurred to me to just totally ignore that post and pretend it never happened, but my conscience got the better of me, and I decided that if you are going to put it out there, you should bring the follow-through. So.

1) Not buying stuff: Check. I’ve largely stopped going anywhere that might tempt me, and I totally quit the fashion blogs. I’ve replaced my fashion blog habit with a running blog habit, which is annoying because all these ladies are in much much better shape than me. So I am motivated, but grumpy. We also did a good closet sweep and trucked a bunch of stuff to Goodwill. I’m like an anti-hoarder. TLC should totally do a show about me and how thoroughly well-adjusted I am.

2) Run 5 miles comfortably: In Progress. I have gradually increased my distances over the month, and I am running/walking about 20 miles a week. I am not at 5 miles with any amount of comfort at all, but I am much closer than when I originally wrote that goal, and that feels good. Meanwhile, goal 2 is threatening to derail goal 1, as I could really use more workout clothing…

3) Eat less sugar: Total failure. Of all of these, I should probably be most on top of this one. Sugar has an immediate negative impact on my energy levels, and I feel like I should be able to control my cravings. But I’m clearly going to have to find a better strategy than just telling myself to knock it off, because so far that approach has been an abysmal failure.

I made this the other night because it sounded so good to me, and looked so very doable. We loved this recipe. I plan to make it over and over again, but probably with meat or as part of a larger meal, because even with rice and naan, this whole dish must be seriously low in calories. We were starving two hours later. It took me a bit more than 30 minutes, but that time could have been shortened by prepping the cauliflower ahead and cutting the potato smaller.

The recipe is beautifully written here, no need to cut and paste.

Other modifications I made were to use some Thai chile-garlic paste instead of the Serrano she calls for (which worked fine) and to stir in some yogurt at the end. I am also considering which other veggies I could use this technique for. It seems like the sort of recipe that would be open to modifications.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in cauliflower, potato. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aloo Gobi

  1. Tammy says:

    I am going to make this tonight. Cauliflower is my favorite and I just got a lovely one in my CSA bag!

    • This recipe honestly makes me think that I could manage bringing Indian styles into my kitchen occasionally. It is so dang simple, and the flavors are just out of this world! I hope you love it as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

