More Parsley Solutions

For the Chinese New Year, Nell’s Kindergarten teacher gave all the kids red envelopes with coins in them, which is supposed to bring good luck. Nell brought hers home, opened it very carefully, took out her coins, and then put two coins from her bank into the envelope, sealed it up and gave it to her brother so that he could have some too. Now, most of the time, I feel like I am doing a pretty terrible job as a parent, but every so often something like this happens, and I think that perhaps I haven’t quite done everything wrong.

I nabbed a box of Israeli couscous the other day just to have some alternative grains to try. But when I got home, I realized that couscous is basically little pasta balls. So not much nutritional variety there. But it felt different anyway, and that is worth something when faced with the daily cooking grind. I cooked it up and then added a bunch of veggies to the mix. I had a cup of shredded turkey waiting to find a use, so I threw that in too, but this would have been just as good as a vegetarian main dish.

  • 1 C Israeli couscous
  • 1 – 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 C chopped parsley
  • 1 red pepper, roasted and sliced into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 C shredded turkey
  • 2 oz goat cheese, crumbled
  • handful of pine nuts
  • juice of 1/2 lemon or splash of your favorite vinegar

Set water to boil. Add 1 C couscous and cook until soft, according to eth package directions. Drain.

Meanwhile, in a large pan, heat 2 tbs butter or olive oil. Add garlic and cook for one minute. Add parsley, red pepper, turkey (if using) and lemon juice or vinegar. Heat through. Add cooked couscous and pine nuts to the pan, and stir to combine. Remove from heat and crumble goat cheese over top. Serves two as a main course or four as a side dish.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in parsley, pepper, turkey. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Parsley Solutions

  1. Kelly (Setzer) Scheder says:

    We cook ours in chicken or veggie broth instead of water for a little more nutritional value. My kids love it!

    • I was surprised by how readily my kids embraced this one – especially since orzo has fallen flat in the past. Is it just the shape? I will try some broth next time. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

