Parsley as a Real Ingredient

As opposed to, you know, a garnish or whatever.

Before I get to that though, as per my New Year’s goals, I have been running. Or rather, I have been trying to run. Honestly, I am terrible at it. But to keep myself motivated I signed up for a 5K with a friend. And I am determined not just to get through it, but to do it respectably for a newbie runner. Just an easy ten minute mile pace would be great. The fact hat I have to work as hard as I do to get to this very low threshhold speaks volumes about my capacity for running.

I did some Tabata intervals on the treadmill this weekend, which involved finding my all-out pace and sticking it for a mere 20 seconds at a go. And what I discovered when I hit my all-out pace was that it was still slower than the pace the women who won the Olympic Marathon Trials ran a whole marathon. It’s almost enough to make me just want to give up now and lay on the couch eating popcorn and watching Portlandia on recursive loop. But if the literature is to be believed, if I keep up with this, I may be fast enough in a couple months to not completely embarrass myself at a road race. I’ll keep you posted.

I made up this sauce as a way to rescue the parsley, and it turned out great. I used half for this dish, and saved the other half to use as a pizza topping later, but if I had been serving four, this would have been the perfect amount. I got gorgeous but huge pork chops from Whole Foods, which really makes this dish. There’s no substitute for a good cut of meat.

  • 2 red bell peppers, seeded and roasted, skins removed
  • 1 large C parsley, chopped
  • 1 Tbs balsamic vinegar
  • dash EVOO
  • salt and pepper

Blend it all up in a food processor until smooth. Taste and adjust seasonings.

Serve topped with a grilled pork chop and a healthy sprinkling of crumbled blue cheese. Or thicken it slightly in a saucepan and use as a pizza sauce topped with onions and cheese and olives and prosciutto because seriously, we just did that and wow, that is just a little slice of heaven right there. I would also guess that you could blend it into whipped cream cheese for an appetizer. How’s that? Three recipes for the price of one. I’m like a regular Mark Bittman over here.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in parsley, pepper. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parsley as a Real Ingredient

  1. Kelly (Setzer) Scheder says:

    We have also made parsley pesto . . . a twist on the usual basil version

Leave a Reply

