Honestly, this is Not a Great Idea

I mean, it’s not something to do on the regular…

I truly had no ideas for Christmas breakfast, so I decided to crowd source suggestions on Facebook and see what my friends came up with. And what everyone came up with was really great, but my friend J won. She suggested this, and just, wow. Of course, I couldn’t make it exactly as written, because that’s like a physical impossibility for me, but also because biscuits *and* grits just seems a little redundant. So this is what I came up with instead, inspired by the original. It was so good that I made it again a week later.

And now that I’m writing it up, boy do I want to make it again…

Parmesan Biscuits with Fig Jam and Prosciutto

  • 2 C flour
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 1 Tbs baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 3/4 C milk
  • 1/2 Lemon
  • 1 C grated Parmesan
  • Fig Jam
  • Prosciutto

Preheat oven to 450. Squeeze lemon into milk and stir gently. Set aside. This makes a little buttermilk for your biscuits.

In a large bowl cut butter into flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda using a pastry blender. When butter is incorporated, add milk slowly, and stir until combined. Add Parmesan and again stir to combine.

Turn your biscuit mix onto a floured work surface and roll to about 1″ thick. Cut into rounds using a biscuit cutter. Place on a sheet pan and bake for 8 – 10 minutes. Serve warm with jam and prosciutto.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Honestly, this is Not a Great Idea

  1. Jet says:

    Wow! Those biscuits are gorgeous. You would think you ran a professional bakery once! Also, seriously, if you had asked for sound nutritional ideas for day in day out, everyone would have said a) eggwhite omemlettes with vegetables, b) oatmeal with seasonal fruit and a handful of nuts, c) fruit and yogurt. You asked for *Christmas* breakfast ideas. These, by their very nature, are special occassion suggestions. ;-))

    • Yeah, healthy breakfasts are completely beside the point on Christmas morning, agreed. Potentially not so beside-the-point this weekend, however, when I may just jump in and make these suckers again, because OMG this is so ridiculously good.

  2. Tammy says:

    My husband’s favorite Christmas treat is bruschetta with fig jam, blue cheese and prosciutto. It gets eaten very fast.

Leave a Reply

