Beet Salad with Tahini Dressing

Actual conversation with Eleanor on the way home from dance:

E: Mom, can you name the planets?

Me: Sure: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Saturn, Jupiter, Neptune, Uranus

(Pause)

E: What about Pluto?

Me: I don’t think it’s considered a planet anymore.

E: But it’s a planet.

Me: No, I think we used to call it a planet but it’s been downgraded somehow.

E: But it’s still a planet?

Me: Do you understand the word “downgraded”?

E: No.

Me: Well it’s like if you had a hamster…

E: What’s a hamster?

Me: Really? Do you know what gerbils are?

E: …

Me: OK. A hamster is like a zhu zhu pet only actually alive. Like a little rodent. A rodent is…  Wait, like Winnie on the Wonder Pets! Only, again, actually living.

E: You mean Linny?

Me:  Really? I guess so. God, Linny isn’t even a real name. … OK. Let’s start over. Let’s say you had a cat.

E: OK.

Me: And for years you couldn’t get very close to it or see it very well and you really thought it was a dog, because it had four legs, and lots of fur, and a tail, and so you went around calling it a dog. Then one day you manage to actually see it better and you realize that it does not at all act like a dog, so you decide to call it a a cat. That’s kind of what happened to Pluto.

E: But it is still a planet?

Me: Not really?

E: Then what is it?

Me: I don’t know? Just a space-thing.

E: How do you know?

Me: Look. I read a lot. Like newspapers and stuff. Except not actually newspapers because they are all on the computer now. Wait. Do you know what a newspaper is?

E: …

Me: A newspaper is like the computer only made of trees.

I can’t escape the feeling that I am doing this whole parenting thing very very wrong.

Last night I made a beet salad with Parsley-Tahini dressing and goat cheese.  As an aside, can anyone defend the existence of candy-stripe beets? They look so pretty, but when you roast them all that loveliness goes away, and they just taste like golden beets. I don’t know why we bother.

  • 2 C Golden or Candy-stripe beets, roasted and chopped
  • ½ C flat leaf parsley, rinsed and chopped
  • ¼ C tahini
  • Juice of ½ lemon
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • a little garlic depending on your taste (I find raw garlic to be too strong, so I tend to use canned or frozen in raw applications like this)
  • ¼ C Goat cheese, crumbled

Mix tahini, parsley lemon juice, olive oil and garlic in a food processor until well blended. Loosen the dressing with a little water or more EVOO if desired. Toss beets with dressing and crumble goat cheese over top.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in beets. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beet Salad with Tahini Dressing

  1. Tammy says:

    Pluto and its moons are now known to be just a large example of a collection of objects called the Kuiper Belt. And I wouldn’t know that except that your well-written dialogue motivated me to find out. And I’m with you on the peppermint beets too.

  2. Good to know! Our little guy got TMBG’s Here Comes Science CD/DVD for Christmas this year, and there is a whole song about the planets and the set up is about how Pluto used to be one, but isn’t anymore. So I have pop stars backing me up anyway! But they just refer to Pluto as part of “a bunch of other stuff” which is not super helpful.

    Meanwhile, my friend advised me via email that the best deal with the candy-stripe beets is raw, but really, how many raw beets can you eat in a week/month/year? So I will continue to mostly cook them and sadly watch them lose their color…

Leave a Reply

