Pork Chops with Chard and Apples

Sorry I’ve been gone so long – Sam and I spent a week in the Bay area, with two glorious kid-free days in San Francisco. I got to experience the rare pleasures of walking at my own pace, not mentally recalculating the distance to the nearest potty every five minutes, and completing a thought. It was heavenly.

We then visited my awesome sister-in-law and her great family for Thanksgiving. Over the weekend, she introduced my children to the joys of chocolate-chip pancakes. In return I let a few swear-words fly in front of her kids. I’d say we’re about even. 🙂

In the share we had gotten some chard, but not tons, just four giant leaves. Not knowing what else to do with them, I decided to use them as a foundation for some grilled pork chops. This meal came together incredibly fast and tasted like something I had actually put some effort into.

  • Pork chops
  • Chard – at least four big leaves, but more if you want, since the leaves really cook down
  • 1 medium apple
  • 1 tbs your favorite wine vinegar
  • handful of pine-nuts
  • 1/4 C crumbled blue cheese

Prepare pork chops for the grill by brushing them with oil and adding a little salt and pepper. Grill chops. Meanwhile remove the chard stems and cut the leaves into small strips. Add the chard to a large pan with a dash of EVOO and the vinegar. Set over medium heat and cover. While chard cooks, peel the apple and slice it into thin pieces. Add apple along with some salt and pepper to the chard, and cook, uncovered, for at least 5 minutes more. Make a bed of apples and chard on a plate. Add some pine-nuts. Top with pork chops and then the cheese.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in swiss chard. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

