Beans and Greens

Beans and greens are the sort of food that I feel like I ought to love, and just stubbornly don’t. You probably don’t need me to tell you all about how they are super healthy, cheap, delicious, etc. But honestly? I eat them and think, these are pretty great, and then immediately wish I had a great big hunk of Trader Joe’s pre-made pot roast to chase it with anyway. I recognize that there are a million and one things wrong with TJ’s pot roast, and I wouldn’t blame any of you for sicking the Pollan Police on me, but OMG that stuff hits a spot so deep I suspect it’s from at least two evolutionary cycles back.

This is what passes for dinner conversation in my house now:

Me: Cosmo, you have to eat your dinner

Cos: I want it to be a train.

Me: OK. Chugga chugga chugga (at which point the fork encounters a closed mouth).

Cos: Say “Open sesame.”

Me: Open sesame

Then I get to feed him.

Me: Here comes another train! Chugga Chugga Chugga…

Cos: Say “Open sesame.”

Me: Open sesame.

Cos: Say “Please.”

Me: Please.

Cos: Say “Food.”

Me: Food.

Cos opens his mouth again.

You can probably see where this is going? In the next cycle, I say “open sesame,” “please,” “food,” “plate,” “train,” “light,” “table,” and “look, I’m about to lose my mind.” In the next cycle I say, “If you don’t pick up your own fork right now and put some food in your mouth you will not get to pick out a piece of Halloween candy.”

Game over.

So. On to the recipe!

  • 1 bunch chard, chopped into strips
  • 1 can white kidney beans
  • 2 – 4 cloves garlic, peeled and roughly chopped
  • EVOO
  • 1/2 C white wine
  • 1/ C stock
  • Pinch red pepper flakes
  • Salt and pepper
  • lemon zest

In a large pan with a lid, swirl a little EVOO and heat. Add garlic and cook 1 – 2 minutes until garlic is starting to turn light brown. (I only used 2 cloves garlic, but I recognize that the dish would taste better with more. Sadly, I have issues with eating too much garlic, so I always go a bit light. If you can take the garlic, absolutely add more.) Add chard, stock and wine. Turn heat up until liquid is boiling, then reduce heat to simmer. Rinse beans and add to the pot. Cook until the liquid has basically evaporated, and the greens are very tender. Season with salt and pepper, red pepper flakes, and just a bit of lemon zest (or juice, if you like).

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in swiss chard. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beans and Greens

  1. Jet says:

    You should definitely file this one under “I am not from the South” and “hilarious”…..the confession about TJ’s pot roast is especially endearing. I was just telling Michael that I *love* his chicken pot pie, despite the fact that it could literally be a Sandra Lee recipe.

    Try a little smoked pork in the beans and greens and see whether you find them more satisfying.

    • Ah, pork makes it all better doesn’t it? Yeah, I have no doubts that a some pork would help, especially if it was, say, a large slice of stuffed tenderloin, and the beans and greens were on the side.

      Meanwhile, I hear you on the Sandra Lee thing. Every so often I make a Taste of Home recipe, and think to myself, DAMN, I could live off this, even though it invariably calls for a whole brick of cream cheese and a tub of sour cream…

  2. Kelly (Setzer) Scheder says:

    I am laughing out loud about your dinner conversation . . . nice to know I’m not the only one chugging along the track with the food train.

    • Definitely not the only one. Cosmo will eat anything, but pretty much only if we make it a game. Dressing is a game. Brushing teeth is a game. Picking up toys is a game. Sometimes my brain just snaps and I can’t take making another thing cute and fun. But mostly we do a lot of singing.

Leave a Reply

