Broccoli Pasta

In the past few days, I’ve seen a really big uptick in visitors. So for those of you who may be new here, welcome! Thanks for dropping by. I hope you like it and that you stick around a while.

This week we got a letter in the mail from Eleanor’s school informing us that she has been selected to be “Student of the Month.” I’m short on details here, but it has something to do with their character building program, I guess. And so what we got was pretty clearly a form letter informing us that each month the school focuses on a different character trait and that this month our daughter had been identified as having the most of it. No clue in the letter as to what that trait might be.

“Congratulations! Your child is exemplary in a way that we appreciate. Really and truly appreciate. But we cannot be bothered to insert another word into this form letter to give you any sense of what she has done well! So sorry!”

I’m guessing that meticulousness has not made it to the list of celebrated traits?

Anyway, we are invited to attend the award ceremony and pizza lunch following it. I will be sure to bring my checkbook, because undoubtedly there will be opportunities to further support the school by buying t-shirts that read “My kid has more undefinable characteristics than your kid.” Possibly we will be able to purchase skywriting to the same effect with half the proceeds benefiting the SRTMS Parent Teacher Association.

The school is exceptionally good at fundraising.

Meanwhile in cooking news, I had almost forgotten about this dish. Every Italian family has some version of it, and this one is mine. When I make it, usually it’s the only dish I serve. It’s practically a complete meal. Pasta for carbs, broccoli for veggie, cheese for dairy, and, well, can we count cheese for protein too? Eh, I’m gonna.

  • 2 good size stalks broccoli, stems removes, and florets cut small
  • 8 oz pasta shapes, like penne or orichette (something that cooks about 11 – 12 mins)
  • 1 C shredded parm
  • 2 – 3 Tbs EVOO
  • 2 – 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • splash cream or half and half

Bring pasta water to boil. Add broccoli and pasta at the same time to the water and set the timer. This will absolutely overcook the broccoli, and that’s the point. When pasta is done, drain the pasta and broccoli using a fine mesh strainer. Return the pasta pot to the stove. Glug in your EVOO, add garlic, and turn heat to medium. Cook garlic about one minute, then dump in broccoli and pasta. Stir it all around vigorously until broccoli has gone sort of mushy and coated the pasta. Dump in most of the cheese and stir some more. Swirl in a little cream to loosen the sauce. Serve with the remaining cheese on top.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in broccoli, pasta. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broccoli Pasta

  1. Becca Dryden says:

    I just started following, and I’m loving your blog!! My husband and I just joined our first CSA, and will be receiving our first bundle of veggies this week. I’ve loved looking through your recipes. They’re really approachable for CSA-virgins like us. Thanks for sharing!!

    • Thanks! So glad you like it. I’ve been in a CSA for about 2 years now, and have gathered a bunch of tips and tricks. It can be tough at times, but I really feel that it is worth it. I wish you loads of CSA success!

Leave a Reply

