Stuffed Squash

Conversation just after dinner:

Sam: You left the milk out again.

Me: Huh. Is it possible that I laundered some trail mix?

Sam: Oh no…

Me: Yeah, I’ve been pulling peanuts our of the washer and dryer all weekend. Also there was a chocolate stain on Cosmo’s sheet.

Sam: I had some trail mix in my hand and then someone came in to my office, so I put it in my pocket. And then I forgot about it.

Me: Because it’s unseemly to be seen eating trail mix? … So, I’m sorry, what was that you were saying about the milk?

And this, folks, is pretty much how I have managed conflict in every relationship I have had – by hanging on to every card I’ve been dealt until I need to play it. I think we can agree that with this strategy, I’m just lucky to still be in a relationship. Sam has the patience of a saint.

For dinner, we had stuffed squash. The kids said they hated it, but we managed to get them to eat most of it, so it couldn’t have been that bad. Apologies for the terrible photo. As is evident throughout the blog, I am only a marginal photographer even when the conditions are perfect. Now that the sun is going down earlier, I am really struggling again to get a decent shot, and the photos of the squash all came out a bit lurid and shiny. Probably the thing to do is finally invest in a decent flash. But they start at $100, and my kid needs some new glasses, so it may be a while.

Until then, this:

  • 2 acorn squash
  • 4 strips bacon
  • 1 C diced onion
  • 1 C diced carrot
  • 1 C diced celery
  • 2 slices of bread
  • 1 C grated cheese – if you happen to have some killer aged pecorino that your friends brought by unexpectedly use it. Otherwise Parm or many of your favorite cheeses will also work well.

Preheat oven to 425. Cut squash in half through the poles, and scoop out seeds. Place the squash cut side up in a 9×11 pan with about a cup of water. Bake 25 – 40 minutes, or until you can get through the flesh easily. You’ll want to let them cool a bit, then carefully scoop as much flesh as possible out of the squash, leaving enough to keep the shape intact so you can stuff it again later. Set the squash aside, with the flesh part in a big mixing bowl. Reduce oven to 350.

Meanwhile, fry up the bacon. Remove bacon to drain and pour off all but the fat that clings to the pan. Start to brown the onions, and then, after a few minutes, add the carrots and celery, and cook until soft. Meanwhile, grate the bread and add it to the squash, and dump in the cheese. Crumble bacon and add to the mix. Finally add in the cooked veggies. Scoop the mix back into the squash halves, and bake another 15 minutes.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in squash. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

