Squash Soup

We had the Scholastic Book Fair at my daughter’s school last week, and so Nell and I decided to check it out. The fair is really only set up to be convenient for families with at least one non-working parent (which, from what I can tell, makes up the vast majority of the households going to that school), but there was one time that we could make it – the “Dads and Donuts” morning. Get it? It was early before school started, because “dads” have to go to work.

On the way in, I made a really stupid joke about hoping that it would also be ok for moms to shop, which in addition to only being funny to me (and then only in a rueful sort of wishing away the gender norms way) also freaked out my daughter who decided that we could not breach the gender divide and go buy the book she wanted. I said something truly unhelpful about my money being as green as daddy’s and then forced her to enter, where to my relief we discovered several adult females also shopping with their kids. And I was finally able to obtain the highly coveted Barbie Princess Charm School for my daughter. I’d say that’s a lose, lose.

From here on out I will only be telling her jokes that end in “banana.”

In actual food-related news, it turns out that the kids will eat squash soup happily. Also, the recipe is literally four ingredients. And if you make it at least partially ahead, it is fast. I’m predicting many squash soup meals in the near future.

  • 1 butternut squash, medium to large
  • 1 onion
  • veggie stock
  • cream

One day ahead: Cut squash in half lengthwise. Scoop out seeds and clean them. Place squash, cut side up in a glass dish with about 1 C of water. Preheat oven to 350. Meanwhile, clean the seeds of any orange goo, dry them, and then toss them with a bit of melted butter or EVOO and salt. Spread them on a sheet pan. Bake squash and seeds for 15 mins, tossing the seeds once so that they toast evenly. Then remove the seeds and kick the heat up to 400. Roast squash for another 45 mins. When soft, separate the flesh from the skin and set aside in the fridge. Seal up the seeds in a separate container too.

The night of: Slice onion into dice and cook in a soup pot in a bit of butter or EVOO until soft and sweet. Add squash flesh and enough stock to barely cover (but no more), and cook about 15 mins. Blend the soup into a smooth puree. Add a splash of cream. If needed, add a bit more stock. Serve with toasted seeds on top, a scoop of sour cream or greek yogurt, and bacon bits if you have them. Otherwise it’s great plain.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in squash, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Squash Soup

  1. This opening story made me laugh out loud. Really funny. Ha ha, sexism!

  2. Christiana says:

    Yeah, that shit is hilarious, right? Also major parenting fail. At least the soup was good!

Leave a Reply

