Halloween Apples

I have always had an aversion to making food cute. It’s FOOD, after all, and you are supposed to eat it, so making it look like darling baby chickies or something is a bit creepy to me. Alluring yes, but turning actual sausages into little piggies strikes me as sort of terrifyingly literal.

That said, my daughter is in full on food-rejection mode, and now that she’s in Kindergarten where she ‘s more or less on her own in terms of getting food from her lunchbox into her little body, the vast majority of her food comes back to me uneaten. I couldn’t help but wonder whether or not making it more interesting might encourage her to eat better?

The world of cute food is surprisingly vast. If you haven’t peeked at it yet, I recommend this, this, and especially this. There are special cookie and vegetable cutters, scissors, tweezers, markers (!), and edible papers to make all this craziness adorable. By contrast, I was able to commit to a bag of apples, a knife, and some slivered almonds to make this today.

There’s no real recipe here, just technique, so here’s what you need to know. It will take about 10 minutes from start to clean-up to make 4. Orange juice should keep the apples from browning. Dip them in it and then brush a bit more on when you are done.

She absolutely ate them. But if she did have a reaction to them outside of “oh hey, apples” it was impossible to get out of her. My victories are always minor, at best.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in feeding kids, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Halloween Apples

  1. Melissa says:

    Cute and scary! Awesome.

    • Thanks! Honestly, if I’m going to put effort into making food cute, then I will need a little more encouragement from the little ones. All they need to do is react a little, and maybe I’ll keep trying?

Leave a Reply

