Honey and Peanut-butter Granola Bars

Thanks to a friend of mine, about a month ago I found iGoogle. I know, it’s been around for about five years, and I’m way behind the times. You know what else has been around five years? My daughter. I’m here to tell you that it’s hard to keep pace with technology when you have very young ones.

Anyway, on my homepage, I get “recipe of the day” type stuff, and that’s how I found this. Now that I’m packing a healthy lunch and two snacks for Eleanor every day, I’ve been on the look out for homemade possibilities to fill in more of the spaces there. This seemed to fit the bill. We also happened to have a jar of honey come in the CSA last week, so I was all set to try this out last night.

Here’s the original recipe.

If I was doing this again, I would probably skip the 13×9 and just do it straight on a sheet pan with parchment. There’s no need to fight with the corners, and the batter doesn’t spread as it bakes (not much anyway).

Kids like it so far.

  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 C honey
  • 1/2 C PB
  • 3 C oats
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 C melted butter

Preheat oven to 350. Using a stand or hand blender, whip the egg white until frothy. Add honey and PB and blend well. Add the remaining ingredients and mix until well blended. Spread on a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake for 25 minutes.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in feeding kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

