If despair had a flavor, I’m pretty sure it would taste like turnips

I’ve been a little quiet here this last week, and I’m sorry about that. In the last two weeks, I’ve found myself inexplicably drawn to continue writing a book I started years ago about my experience owning a bakery, and that has sucked up a good deal of my evening energy. It has also sucked up a good deal of my energy generally. The bakery was a crazy roller coaster full of episodes that you literally wouldn’t even believe. And it was also difficult. Reliving it through writing, I’ve found that maybe I don’t have as much emotional distance from that time as I thought I did.

Meanwhile, we have been getting turnips. I made this lovely recipe for a potluck, and despite stewing the turnips in heavy cream and cheese, people still didn’t love it. It wasn’t bad, exactly, but Sam reported that nobody went back for seconds either.

I decided that the only way to deal with the remaining turnips was to mitigate them somewhat, so I made a turnip and carrot mash. It’s fine. It took one turnip and a bunch of carrots because yes, I had a 2-lb turnip in the share this week. We turned it into 8 servings of side dish, which is kind-of crazy.

With the rest, I’m going to make turnip and mashed potatoes and freeze some. I like the way the turnips add depth and dimension to otherwise bland mashed potatoes. The ideal ratio is one part turnip to four parts potato. This is not a fast way to get through turnips, but it is kind of awesome to have mashed potatoes on hand for a super fast and easy side dish.

Turnip and Carrot mash

  • 2 lbs turnips, peeled
  • 2 lbs carrots peeled
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • salt and pepper

Boil turnips and carrots in a pot until super soft. Mash with butter and season.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in carrot, turnip. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If despair had a flavor, I’m pretty sure it would taste like turnips

  1. ksk says:

    This is hilarious, the one thing that went straight to the compost pile out of the share was turnips. Even with mashed potatoes, no one would eat them at my house. I love the unique voice that comes through in your writing and can’t wait to read your book!

  2. Aren’t you kind! Thanks for the encouragement. I am just starting to show some readers the rough draft now…

    As for the turnips, I hate to give up, but I may be getting close. I have tried roasted, glazed, mashed, au gratin, in lasagna, creamed in soup (actually not bad), and mashed with other things. And I pretty much just thought they were barely passable. I would trade turnips for rutabagas or parsnips any day.

Leave a Reply

