Caviar des Courgettes

I have no idea what to call this dish. It’s basically baba ganoush, only made with zucchini instead of eggplant, and basil instead of cilantro or parsley. But calling it Zucchini Basil Baba Ganoush would be like just mixing anything you wanted with Tahini and calling it “hummus.” And my readers won’t stand for that, because, as a friend of mine pointed out, “words have meanings.” So I took a page from the French playbook. The French refer to baba ganoush as caviar d’aubergines (i.e. caviar of eggplant), which by extension makes my dish caviar des courgettes. Francophiles, please feel free to correct my French or explain to me that “French words have meanings too” in the comments.

Also, a quick note about tahini: I had a friend try my last recipe with tahini only to find that she got pretty drastically different results from what I did. Based on what she told me, the culprit is pretty clearly the tahini. The stuff I use, from Trader Joe’s, is the consistency of whipped cream cheese. If yours is thicker or more oily, you may find that you have to add additional water to make your final product an appropriate consistency. Until she got in touch with me, I had no idea that tahini could vary so much. Thanks, Mary for helping make my recipe writing more clear.

  • 2 – 3 medium zucchini
  • EVOO
  • Tahini
  • 10 leaves basil
  • Salt and Pepper

Preheat oven to 400. Slice zucchini in half lengthwise, trimming off the ends. Brush the insides with EVOO and sprinkle salt and pepper over it. Bake in a glass pan cut side up for 45 – 50 minutes, or until zucchini is very soft and slightly brown on top.

Chop roasted zucchini into smaller chunks. Add to a food processor along with basil and about 1/4 C tahini. Pulse until well blended, adding more tahini or basil as desired. Taste and adjust seasonings.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in summer squash, zucchini. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

