Cucumber and Feta Salad

So it turns out that the unidentifiable vegetable we had been getting is an Armenian Cucumber, otherwise known as “Snake Melon.” Although it tastes cucumber-like, through my impressive googling skills, I have learned that it is actually a variety of musk melon (which just sounds dirty, right?). Whatever. My kids like it and it’s vegetal, that’s all I care about.

I love cucumbers so much, and one of my favorite things to do with them is Joanne Weir’s cucumber salad. Sam and I had gotten her exceptional book, From Tapas to Meze in our first or second year of marriage. We were visiting some quaint New England town, and found the book in a small kitchen specialty shop. The owner of the shop couldn’t say enough good things about it, and so we nabbed it as a souvenir. It is a great and inspiring read.

Weir’s cucumber salad recipe is a bit saucy. It’s loose and good for spreading on pitas. I took the same flavors and just altered the textures to be more chopped salad and less spread, which worked better for the Armenian cucumbers since they aren’t quite as liquid-y as their american counterparts.

  • 1 – 2 Armenian cucumbers, sliced into rounds
  • 2 oz feta, crumbled
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 T chopped mint
  • 1 T chopped parsley
  • salt and pepper

It’s a salad, guys. Just mix it all together. Swirl a little EVOO in and you are done!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in cucumber, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

