Pasta with Beets and Greens

Last night, I put a diaper through the washing machine. Not like an organic hemp cloth diaper (which I don’t own and) which could reasonably withstand a washing, but rather the cheap-as-you-can-get-them from Target disposable variety.  By the time I discovered my mistake, it was too late and I was too tired to figure out how best to deal with the mess, so I just threw everything in the dryer (minus the diaper, of course) and hoped for the best. Other than feeling vaguely concerned that I smell like a nursing home, no real damage seems to have been done.

I suspect that the diaper made it into the wash because as of late we’ve been massively sleep deprived over here.  My otherwise charming son has woken us up every night this week at least once per night. He has started waking up at night because he is potty training, and a funny thing about kids is that when they try to learn a new skill, very often they lose ground on an established one during that time. I vaguely remember something similar from when my daughter was potty training, but that was three years ago, and really, that whole time is one big blur.

Despite being on day five of not enough sleep, I managed to cook dinner and it wasn’t frozen pizza or poisonous.

  • 3 medium roasted beets (either golden or candy-striped), chopped into dice
  • Bunch chard (or, if you are a gold-star winning CSA member, your beet tops)
  • ½ onion, chopped
  • 2 strips bacon
  • 1/3 C white wine
  • 1/3 C cream
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • pasta
  • ½ C shredded parm for topping
  • handful pine nuts for same

Boil pasta according to package directions. Meanwhile, cook up your bacon in a saucepan. When it is well-done, remove the bacon and dump out most of the fat. Add the onion to what remains and cook it for 10 minutes or so, or until soft and sweet. Add your garlic (crushed), and then, pretty much immediately, deglaze the pan with the wine. Dump in your chard and cream and cook until chard is soft and liquid has boiled down by half, at least 5 minutes. Add beets to warm through. Crumble bacon and add back into the sauce.

Serve sauce over pasta, top with parm and pine nuts.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in beet, swiss chard. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

