Tomatillo Salsa

Before we started being CSA members, I thought kale was strictly a garnish, with about the same usefulness in recipes as a carved radish. Then we started getting pounds of it each week, and it dawned on me that perhaps I had better research some more varied options for kale. After two full years of weekly kale rations, I am a certified kale expert. Also, my Vitamin K is through the roof.

We just got our first batch of tomatillos, and so I did the only thing I know how to do with them – I made roasted tomatillo salsa. It has already dawned on me that I might have to get more creative with these guys if we are going to successfully get through the season, but literally every recipe I look at comes back to the same thing – salsa. Sure, some have chicken or pork swimming in it, but it’s pretty much always some version of salsa.

Have I already posted this recipe once before? Kinda, yes. But this time there’s cilantro! Which is exactly the sort of innovation that I bring to food blogging. Cilantro in Mexican food. You’re welcome.

So I guess this is a warning – go down to the Mexican market and grab your dried Chilies de Arbol now. It’s officially salsa season, and I’m betting on at least 4 more weeks of tomatillos.

The next time I post this recipe, there will be pork in it, no doubt. Probably also cilantro.

  • Tomatillos (pretty much as many as you want)
  • Cilantro (see note above)
  • Chiles de Arbol
  • Salt

After removing the outer papers, and rinsing them well, roast the tomatillos. You can roast them in the oven, in a pan on the stove, or on the grill – just do it until they have some nice dark markings, as this will ensure that their flavor is a bit sweeter. Using a paper towel, clean and dirt off the chiles that you are using. Honestly, I only use one or two chiles in a two cup batch of salsa, which is fully 1/8 of what any good Mexican cook would use. Proceed with caution is my recommendation here. Those things are HOT. Dump the chiles, tomatillos, salt and cilantro in a food processor and whirl it all around until it proper salsa. Serve!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in tomatillos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomatillo Salsa

  1. Kirk Lesh says:

    Excellent recipe!! For those that like a bit more spice add some Anaheim chilies or equivalent spice. Use your judgement some of these chilies can be hot.

    • Yes, you can easily up the spice content in this one and have it be exactly to your taste. I freely admit that I am pretty weak in this regard. But I love making my own because I can be sure to get the heat the way I like it best! Happy experimenting!

Leave a Reply

