Summer Squash and Chicken Enchiladas

The summer squash is out in full force these days, and my current CSA sends us a moderate 4 – 5 squash each week. This is a vast improvement from the 8 – 10 we got with our old CSA, but is still something of an uphill battle for me.

With the tomatillos in the share as well and a nice bunch of cilantro, it struck me that we could probably find some sort of Mexican-inspired deal to make it all work. So, after a bit of hunting, I found this recipe on Taste of Home. Now Taste of Home, if you are not familiar with it, is pretty much the Paula Deen of food magazines. All their stuff tastes incredible, but when you see what actually goes into it, you can’t help but be sort of horrified. Like enchilada sauce made with milk, flour and chili powder, for example. Which gets added to a recipe that already has plenty of cheese and sour cream. The only way I can defend this is to say that it sure does make a bunch of squash go down easy. And hey, squash can make you feel a little desperate.

Also? If you think it makes 6 servings, you will be much happier than if you think it makes 4.

I made my own tomatillo salsa, and it was killer. Recipe coming soon.

See the original recipe here.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup chopped onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 3 cups chopped yellow squash
  • 2 cups cubed cooked chicken
  • 1 can (4 ounces) chopped green chilies
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1-1/4 cups milk
  • 10 flour tortillas (6 to 8 inches)
  • 1-1/2 cups (6 ounces) shredded Monterey Jack cheese, divided
  • 1 cup chopped fresh tomatoes
  • Sour cream

Directions

  • In a skillet, saute onion and garlic in oil until tender. Add squash and saute until tender. Add chicken and chilies; heat through.
  • In a saucepan, melt butter. Add flour, chili powder, salt and pepper; stir to form a smooth paste. Gradually add milk, stirring constantly. Cook until sauce comes to a boil; cook an additional minute until thickened. Add 1/3 cup sauce to chicken mixture; mix well. Place 1/3 to 1/2 cup chicken mixture down the center of each tortilla; top with 1 tablespoon cheese. Roll up and place seam side down in a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish. Spread remaining sauce on top.
  • Cover and bake at 400° for 25 minutes. Uncover; sprinkle with tomatoes and remaining cheese. Return to the oven for 5 minutes. Serve with sour cream. Yield: 4-6 servings.
About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in onion, Uncategorized, zucchini. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Summer Squash and Chicken Enchiladas

  1. Thank you for your wonderful posts. We are linking your entries at theojaiwall.com. My wife is really happy to find this. We have a 1 and half year old and need to fine tune our cooking skills. 🙂

    Best,
    Chris Byerley
    The Ojai Wall

    • Feeding the little ones is always the biggest challenge for me! I have to say, these enchiladas went down pretty easy for all involved, but I had to cut back on the heat a bit to make that happen.

      Thanks for linking! I’m glad you like the blog!

  2. Kirk Lesh says:

    Another great recipe! Instead of buying enchilada sauce from the supermarket use the sauce/roux in this recipe. I added zucchini (a few left over from the CSA) and a bit of a kick (Anaheim chilies). If you are careful with your portions you can get 8 servings.

  3. Gerald says:

    I made a half-size version of this one using (for the first time) Trader Joe’s soy chicken (I’m a vegetarian). Plus I, too, needed to use up that bumper crop of CSA squash. This recipe got better reviews than the “chicken” I must say. The chili powder roux was really interesting and added a unique component to the meal. Great job!

    • Hi Gerald! Glad you liked it. Of course, I can’t take credit for anything more than finding it. 🙂

      I have a strict no imitation meat policy in my house (mostly because it always seems to mess with my system something fierce). If I were making this for vegetarian friends, I would consider making up the volume with some corn and/or black beans. It might be worth a redo if the squash keeps rolling in?

Leave a Reply

