Beef Bourguignon

(mushrooms! – because it is really really hard to take a good pic of the finished dish)

The other day, I wasn’t doing a family meal, so I offered to make my daughter a grilled cheese. She rejected it summarily, with an “Ewwww! I hate grilled cheese.” This is just insane, because like every normal American five-year-old, she has happily eaten grilled cheese on many occasions. So I said, “OK, honey, I’ll get you something else,” and then, because I’m evil, proceeded to serve her leftover cream of carrot soup which I knew she liked even less. But hey, she learns a lesson, eats a healthy meal, and I get to indulge my mean streak, so really, everyone wins.

The next day, my dear friends gave birth (early! unexpected!) to a gorgeous baby boy. So of course, I wanted to bring them a meal. I was looking for the right mix of celebratory, comfort food-y and freezer-viable, and finally settled on Beef Bourguignon. I made a bit extra to feed my kids, because they actually really like it. Here’s to a healthy new life, and at least a few years before the food rejection campaign sets in full force.

  • 2 strips bacon
  • 1.5 lbs beef stew meat
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 C red wine
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 Tbs fresh parsley
  • 2 Tbs flour
  • 8 oz button mushrooms, cleaned and halved

Marinate beef with onion, carrot, garlic, parsley and wine overnight.

Reserving marinade, remove beef and pat dry. Cook the bacon in the pan, then remove bacon, leaving drippings behind. Keeping the heat high, brown beef in bacon drippings, and then remove from pan. Add flour to pan and stir. Immediately add reserved marinade (with veggies), and stir until all flour is dissolved. Bring to boil. Add beef back to pan, salt and pepper the whole deal, cover and reduce heat to low. Simmer three hours.

When beef is fork-tender, remove the lid and add mushrooms, and a handful more parsley, if you have it around. Cook another 20 minutes, until mushrooms are soft. Serve with bread.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in onion, parsley, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beef Bourguignon

  1. I can testify that the this dish is killer! A totally magical combination of flavors that comforted the whole family for days! Thank you Auntie C!

Leave a Reply

