Lima Bean Hummus

One of the great surprises from the spring CSA was a couple of bags of dried limas. Prior to getting them, I didn’t even realize that it was possible to dry limas, and therefore, I had no clue what to do with them. Fortunately, printed on our CSA list was a great lima hummus recipe.

It was crazy good – smooth and rich in a way that chickpeas just are not. It is also extremely mild, so it’s super easy to flavor the hummus with your favorite add-ins. I’ve made it with roasted garlic, and cilantro-lime, and both were fabulous. My son will eat it with a spoon.

  • 7 – 8 oz dried lima beans
  • 3 oz tahini
  • EVOO
  • head garlic
  • salt and pepper

Soak your limas in water for 4 – 6 hours. During this time, the skins will pucker up and start to come loose. I removed mine by just rubbing them off gently with my fingers, but I’m told that you can leave them on for a super dose of dietary fiber. I recommend removal.

Cut horizontally across the top of your garlic head, wrap the garlic in foil and roast it at 350 for 45 minutes to an hour. Meanwhile, bring beans and fresh water to a boil in a large saucepan, and cook for 45 minutes, or until very soft. Push the soft interiors out of the garlic skins.

In a food processor, mix beans, tahini, roasted garlic, and a couple of good glugs of olive oil and process until smooth. Season with salt and pepper.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

