Beet Slaw

We’ve had a two-week hiatus from the CSA. The upside of this is that I am finally going through some of the root vegetables that had been hanging out in my crisper. The downside is that apparently I actually need the CSA to make me eat my veggies, as left to my own devices, my dinners are somewhat less than perfectly healthy.

The beet slaw was a function of the fact that I just couldn’t take roasting another beet. It worked surprisingly well as a salad add-in, but would have been just as good topping some grilled meat, or as a very simple side.

  • Beets, however much you have, peeled
  • Carrots, ditto
  • ginger (fresh)
  • red wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper

Grate as much carrot and beet as you wish. The fastest way to accomplish this is with your food processor, but it also goes rather quickly when done by hand. For every 2 cups of grated veg, add 1/4 C vinegar and 1 tsp grated ginger. Salt and pepper to taste!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in beet, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beet Slaw

  1. This meal looks beautiful! I want to make it!

Leave a Reply

