Lemon Muffins

I know that I’m supposed to like Mollie Katzen. Ms. Katzen is the founder/owner/best-selling cookbook author responsible for the Moosewood Collective in Ithica NY. As much as anyone, she is responsible for the original whole foods movement, making vegetarianism hip and (almost) mainstream back in the day. Along with Anna Thomas and Frances Moore Lappe, Katzen introduced my parents’ generation to the concept of really eating your veggies.

But I could never get into her recipes. I’ve owned two of her cookbooks over the years, and even when I was a really truly earnest vegetarian (and not just an I-eat-vegetarian-sometimes vegetarian) I didn’t much like her books and often doctored the recipes. There’s a real 70’s health-food style to her meals – a style that Jack Bishop, Mark Bittman, and even Jamie Oliver have done a lot to update in the last decade.

So when I found her recipe for lemon muffins, I figured I could use it as the base for something that was more to my own taste. I have to love that she’s sugar-resistant enough to have measured out her sugar in tablespoons. But once you get to 5 or 6 tablespoons (as the recipe calls for) you’re really looking at at least 1/3 C sugar, and let’s just call a spade a spade, shall we?

I baked mine in a mini-muffin pan because cleaning out hundreds of tiny muffin cups is awesome because they bake so darned fast. 12 minutes to hot breakfast, and I can almost even imagine that I’m someone who has enough time to actually make hot breakfast for my kids every morning.

 (I swear to God, they’d eat tripe if I let them spread their own butter on it.)

  • 1 C ricotta
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 C milk
  • 4 Tbs melted butter
  • Zest of one lemon
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1 C flour
  • 1 C whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch salt

Preheat oven to 350. Mix the batter by first mixing all the wet ingredients well and then adding in the dry. Spoon into a prepared muffin tin. Bake for 12 minutes (22 – 24 if you are making full-size muffins).

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in lemon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lemon Muffins

  1. Lemon is one of my favorite flavors. Your sunny muffins sound delish. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till Monday night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your muffins up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/06/sweets-for-saturday-23.html

Leave a Reply

