Thai Beef Salad

Almost a month ago now, I trucked up to the Santa Barbara farmer’s market to meet the good folks from Rancho San Julian. They are a cattle ranch up in the Santa Ynez valley, who are doing everything just about right as far as the environment and the treatment of the animals goes, and the SB market is their most southward stop. Their beef is fully double the cost of beef in most of the local groceries, and even beats out Whole Foods prices. I placed a giant order and wrote a pretty hefty check.

I’d have to say it’s worth every single penny, though. I love knowing that the producer is making the money, and that I am supporting a business that is making ethical choices. Also, the meat is delicious.

I had asked for a flank steak but they only had skirt, so that is what they gave me. Seriously, I know so little about cuts of meat that I didn’t even know what skirt was, but I was happy to give it a try. Turns out that they are pretty comparable cuts, and if you know what you are doing with a grill and cooking times, you can probably make the substitution here easily.

My kids devoured this. All of it would benefit from having some ginger added, but as I didn’t have any on hand, I went without. It was still amazing.

Marinade:

  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/4 C soy sauce
  • 2 Tbs brown sugar
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 2 Tbs toasted sesame oil
  • dash of red pepper flakes, or sriracha
  • Flank or skirt steak, enough for your family

Salad:

  • Romaine
  • Red leaf lettuce
  • Cucumber
  • Avocado
  • Mint
  • Cilantro

Dressing:

(ok, in all honesty, I didn’t measure anything when mixing this up, so this is pretty approximate)

  • 2 Tbs rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 3 Tbs toasted sesame oil
  • dash of fish sauce

At this point, it becomes pretty self-explanatory, right? Marinate your steak. Grill it. Meanwhile, assemble your salad and dressing. Cut the steak into thin strips and serve to the side of your salad.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in avocado, cilantro. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

