The Share

Even when I was crazy with work, I managed to make CSA meals for the family. I did this by making late-night preparations the day before and whipping it all together when I got home. This was fueled by a determination to not let my job win out over healthy eating, and it was mostly successful. You’ll have to take my word for it though, as there was absolutely no time to document this miraculous feat as I was doing it. I think my point here is that the determining variable in CSA success is not the level of stress in your life, but rather, your own level of commitment.

I’m happy to finally be returning to a routine, however, and looking forward to a thoughtful menu for the week.

The Haul:

  • Turnips (6 plus 2 left over from last week)
  • Romaine
  • Red leaf lettuce
  • 2 kinds of kale
  • Arugula
  • Parsley
  • Spinach
  • Broccoli
  • Artichokes (three!)
  • Oranges
  • Lemons

The Plan:

  • Cream of broccoli soup for the kids
  • Turnip soup with pistacio parsley pesto
  • Thai beef salad
  • Kale salad with artichokes
  • Lemon curd (to share because we have tons of lemons!)
  • Possibly lemon muffins?

 

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in CSA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

