Oven-Roasted Beet Chips

When Mark Bittman informed me that I could make oven-roasted beets chips the same way I do potatoes, I wanted to kiss him. These are so easy and really good. The only drawback is that they came out a little soft for my taste. So I’m considering experimenting with a slightly higher oven temp. I figure a beet is worth an experiment, right? For now, here is the Bittman version.

  • Beets, peeled, sliced about 1/4″ thick into rounds (or half-moons)
  • Oil
  • salt and pepper

Preheat your oven to 400. Toss beets with oil and then place on a parchment lined baking pan so that the slices do not overlap. Bake for 10 minutes. Turn the slices, season with salt and pepper, and bake 10 minutes more. We filled a baking pan with 2 beets and it served two people as a side dish.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in beet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

