Self-Dressing Salad

This recipe came from Moosewood Restaurant Low Fat Favorites, but the truth is that I never would have found it if it weren’t for In My Box, because I gave that book away years ago. I recognize that the Moosewood folks practically founded the whole gourmet-daily-vegetarian-movement-dealio, and I mean no disrespect, but man, I did not like that book. Most of the recipes are just no fun.

So I was surprised and heartened to discover this overlooked gem, especially because I had all the ingredients already on hand.

  • Spinach
  • Grapefruit
  • Avocado
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Toss the spinach with some olive oil, and salt and pepper, and set aside. Cut the grapefruit into salad sized pieces. (I like to do this by cutting away the sides, then slicing it into circles, and then smaller bits.) Cut the avocado into salad sized chunks. Toss the ingredients all together and serve!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in avocado, grapefruit, spinach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

