Tofu Tacos

For Mother’s Day, the only thing I really want is for my kids to eat their food, and actually enjoy it for a change. I recall from my own childhood that taco night was about the best way to accomplish this feat, but with no good ground beef at hand, I was forced to be creative. I would link you to the original recipe, but the website seems to be shut down (hopefully temporarily).

My friend C actually posted this recipe to her Facebook with the caption “I thought this would be good in a vegetarian-food kind of way, but it turned out to be good in a real people food way, so I’m posting it here.” That about sums it up. The kids LOVE this. The only challenging part is remembering to freeze and then thaw the tofu far enough in advance.

  • 1 tub tofu in water
  • 1/4 C soy sauce
  • 1 Tbs PB
  • 1 tsb cumin
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp red pepper
  • 1 tsp chile powder

Preheat oven to 350. Combine soy sauce and all the following ingredients in a mixing bowl and stir thoroughly (NB that the spice combo is pretty hot, so back off that a little if a lot of heat doesn’t appeal to you). Remove tofu from container and squeeze it in some paper towels to remove water. You will be squeezing an astonishing amount of water from the tofu, thanks to the freezing/thawing process, which makes the tofu extra spongy. I did this part over the sink.

Crumble the tofu into the sauce and thoroughly combine. Turn the tofu onto a parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes, then turn the crumbles a bit and bake another 15 minutes more. Serve with your favorite toppings.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in tofu. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

