Dill and Cheese Biscuits

What, exactly, is the difference between a biscuit and a scone? The interwebs are surprisingly silent on the subject. I thought for sure my googling would turn up a Serious Eats or a Cook’s Illustrated answer. But no.

I made a LOT of scones at the bakery, and I’m going to go out on a limb here and suggest that the difference has to do with leavening. A scone is (or ought to be anyway) a much denser (and probably relatedly) stickier dough than the biscuit dough. I also suspect that it benefits from a bit of soda *and* powder, but it would take further experimentation to know for certain.

I set out to make scones, but I ended up with biscuits. Just look at this and tell me that is not the texture of  biscuit.

See? Undeniable.

The shocker of course is that I was modifying a tested *scone* recipe when I made these.

  • 2 C flour
  • 1 Tbs Baking Powder
  • 6 Tbs cold salted butter, cubed
  • 1/2 C Cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 lb cheese
  • 2 Tbs (or more!) chopped dill

Preheat over to 400. In a large bowl, cut butter into flour and baking powder, using a pastry blender. In a separate bowl, thoroughly blend eggs and cream. Pour liquid into flour mix and stir until it comes together. Add in dill and cheese, and knead the dough a few times to mix the flavorings in thoroughly.

(NB, I cubed my cheese, but in the future, I would absolutely grate it so that it gets more thoroughly incorporated. Also, use your favorite hard cheese. I used some CoJack in the hopes of getting the kids to at least try it, but really, you can do much better than that.)

Turn the dough out onto a floured surface, and shape into a circle. Cut through the circle four times to make 8 wedges. Bake on a parchment-lined cookie sheet for 20 minutes.

I served this with cream of spinach soup. How many calories? Probably a gazillion. And it’s worth every one.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in bread, dill. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dill and Cheese Biscuits

  1. Nathan D says:

    Biscuits usually don’t involve eggs. And scones usually have some sugar. No?

    • Sure, there’s the sugar thing. But the concept of a savory scone is not unheard-of, and some people are fond of scone loaves (there’s a fancy name for this which I have forgotten). I have seen scone recipes both with and without eggs, though it’s certainly true that most good ones have them.

  2. partytent says:

    Markedly well written piece of writing

Leave a Reply

