Eight Ounces of Healthy

There are loads of kale recipes that I don’t want to try. But the funny thing about getting kale EVERY WEEK is that eventually, you’re probably going to try them. Such was the case today. I vaguely remembered reading a recipe for a kale smoothie on one of my CSA newsletters, and so I attempted to approximate what I remembered.

Let’s be perfectly clear. This is not going to work as a strategy for getting through the kale unless you are a smoothie-a-day-type person, and also, probably, unless you have a decently powerful blender. It was a fun little experiment nonetheless. Somehow, it managed to taste both surprisingly non-kale-like, and kale-y. Despite this, I enjoyed it.

 

  • 1 banana
  • 8 oz orange juice
  • handful frozen mango chunks
  • 5 leaves kale, stems removed
  • 4 oz water

Blend. If your blender is crap like mine, you will probably have to add the kale in batches. Makes 16 oz, but as far as I am concerned, that’s 2 servings.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in banana, kale. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

