Pad Thai

It took me a couple of days to remember how to cook without a share again. But finally, like waking up a long-quiet part of my brain, I remembered. And when I finally did, the only thing I could think of was Pad Thai.

Oh, how I love Pad Thai. I used to get it as street food when we lived in New Haven, where I’m pretty sure it was some ghastly but delicious version of rice noodles, green onions, MSG, fish sauce, and oil. And now, when I have to pay more than $4 for a serving and it tastes like fresh food, I’m always a bit disappointed.

The homemade version is far cleaner tasting. You can really dissect the elements. I blame this on the fish sauce, which once you have stirred it into something and really smelled it, seems to leap off the fork. It can only be tamed with a good dose of Sriracha.

Pad Thai Sauce:

  • 6 Tbs sugar
  • 6 Tbs white vinegar
  • 4 Tbs Fish Sauce
  • 1 Tbs ketchup

Stir it all together in a bowl

Things to add to your Pad Thai (in roughly descending order of importance)

  • 14 oz rice noodles, cooked
  • 3 Tbs oil
  • 1/2 C cilantro
  • 1/4 C chopped peanuts
  • 3 – 8 cloves garlic, crushed
  • Shrimp (cooked)
  • 3 eggs, scrambled
  • 1/4 C scallions
  • bean sprouts

 

In a very large pan, heat the oil. Saute garlic and scallions. Quickly stir-fry any meat, eggs, and sprouts that you intend to use. Add noodles and sauce and mix well. Top with peanuts and cilantro.

Even the kids ate this!

 

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in cilantro. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

