Masseman Curry

I’m afraid to admit to the number of times a bunch of green onions, or a pile of cilantro, or a bunch of parsley showed up in a share, and I’ve thought something along the lines of “Oh, I don’t have to make special plans for those. I can throw those into everything.” And then, when the next share arrives, I discover to my dismay that I’ve neglected the herbs for another week.

Enter Masseman curry. This curry neatly uses up green onions and cilantro, and can be used to dress carrots, potatoes, broccoli, tofu, or chicken – or all of the above and whatever else you decide to throw in.

And, yes, I totally see the irony of having this calorie-bomb be my first post this week. Let’s just say that it’s going to be portion control that makes this work.

This is only slightly adapted from a recipe on Epicurious. I lightened up the PB portion and eliminated the extra sugar, and also made it soupy like a curry, but if you want thick and saucy, stick with the Epicurious version.

  • 6 green onions, chopped
  • 1 T grated ginger
  • 2 T oil
  • 2 T canned curry (I like green, but red and yellow also work well)
  • 1 C coconut milk
  • 1 C stock
  • 1/2 lime
  • 1 T soy sauce
  • 1/2 C Peanut Butter
  • 1/2 C chopped cilantro

Put first three ingredients in a saucepan and saute over medium heat and saute for 3 – 5 minutes. Add all the rest of the ingredients except the cilantro and bring to a boil. Serve over cooked vegetables or meat and rice, and top with a generous portion of cilantro.

 

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in cilantro, oranges and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Masseman Curry

  1. ksk says:

    I love curry but haven’t tried to make it often myself. Is “canned curry” a paste or is it the powder? And if you have access to green curry – where? Green curry is my favorite but I haven’t the slightest idea where to find it locally (other than take-out from Little Thai Restaurant in Camarillo, 🙂 which makes some of the best Thai green curry I’ve had outside of Chiang Mai).

    • It is a canned curry that I use (Thai style).But now that you ask, I should probably clarify in the recipe! What I get maybe has 4 Tbs total in the can. You can freeze whatever you don’t use immediately and it’s good for at least a month. I got it at the San Jose Market in Camarillo, which is Filipino, I think. I hope that helps!

  2. Nathan D says:

    It’s pretty easy to make your own massaman paste, and it keeps for weeks in the fridge (and is a lot cheaper/tastier) — makes it really easy to throw together something with those flavors.

    I have seen a lot of different combinations of ingredients called “massaman curry paste”, but for instance:

    http://180kitchen.wordpress.com/2010/01/13/thai-massaman-curry/

    • True, and I’ve even frozen it with excellent results. That said, there’s nothing like a can for every day convenience. 🙂

      I’ve eaten a bunch of things that purport to be Masseman curry, but my absolute favorite hails from the Thai Taste cart in New Haven, which kept me in cheap pad thai slathered with chicken masseman curry throughout grad school. I’m pretty certain that the secret there was creamy PB + coconut milk + chiles. After that, it’s all for show.

      Oh, I’m drooling just thinking about it…

Leave a Reply

