The Share

I was at a gathering last night and when taking my daughter to the potty, I decided to step on a scale. Since I don’t have one at home, I check in pretty infrequently, and use health and clothing as a gauge as to how I’m doing. Apparently though, it’s time to be a bit more strict with myself, as I discovered that I was past my personal comfort zone.

Mostly this has to come from self-control at work. We have a new colleague who has decided that the way to our hearts is through our stomachs and she regularly brings in cookies, oooey gooey breakfast breads &tc. Also, there are ALWAYS pounds of M&Ms lying around. So the opportunities to overindulge are plenty. I’m guessing that my trouble is with these items and not, say, too much roast broccoli.

That said, I’m going to try to focus on salads with this week’s share and not so much the creamy, cheesy solutions, for what I hope will be an overall lighter approach to using the produce.

The Haul:

  • Spinach
  • Lettuce
  • Daikon
  • Kale
  • Chard
  • Collards
  • Parsley
  • Beets
  • Carrots
  • Green Onions
  • Strawberries
  • Blood Oranges
  • Lemons
  • Avocados

The Plan:

  • Avocado pesto
  • Salads – Chard with raisins and Walnuts, Beets with Carrots and Harissa, Raw Kale, Spinach and Peas


About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in CSA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

