Beans and Greens

*An inadvertently vegan gluten-free main dish*

A good old friend of mine, and one of these people who always seems to have his finger on the pulse of what’s next, observed that gluten-free is trending right now. Sure, there are a bunch of folks who have honest-to-god celiac issues and for whom eating wheat has always been dicey at best. But there’s a whole other group that is voluntarily choosing to forgo wheat for health purposes, sometimes with startling results. And with the cost of gluten-free foods nearly three times that of their wheat-laden counterparts, it seems unlikely that food producers will be slow to notice.

I, meanwhile, subscribe to the “eat real food” school of health, and have never been very good at maintaining any strict restrictions. So it was with some surprise that I discovered, while eating dinner tonight, that I had created a vegan and gluten-free main dish just by using whole foods that needed to be eaten.

Also? I used canned beans. I feel bad about it because of all the crazy press that can linings are getting these days. But I’m a working mom of two, and if I’m going to eat beans, sometimes they are going to have to come out of a can.

(Or someone can take mercy on me and get me a pressure cooker. hint hint.)

So the recipe below assumes canned beans, but if you are cooking your own, it’s just a timing issue. You want to get the greens in there 15 – 20 minutes before the beans are just right so everything comes out beautifully.

  • 1 can cannellini
  • 1 bunch chard
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 Tbs EVOO (plus more for drizzling)
  • 1/2 lemon
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 avocado (for garnish)

Chop chard into fine ribbons, and add to a large pan with 2 Tbs water and 2 Tbs EVOO, and set over medium heat. Cook for 15 minutes, adding more water if necessary. Add crushed garlic and saute for one minute more. Rinse beans and add to the pot with the juice of the lemon. Season with salt and pepper and let cook a few minutes more. Top with avocado and another round of salt and pepper. Serves 2.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in swiss chard and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beans and Greens

  1. Tammy McLeod says:

    Beans and greens is one of my favorite dishes and you can easily put gluten or meat back in if you prefer – a handful of noodles and some sausage or chicken.

    • And in fact I did – I served myself a sprouted wheat bagel with a little extra avocado for a side dish. Couldn’t help myself. I can get into vegetarian cooking, but I just can’t quite seal the deal with gluten-free or vegan!

  2. scrumptious says:

    Yum, this sounds delicious, and right up my alley, of course! I love the combo of beans and greens. I’ve never added avocado, however, and that sounds fantastic. I can’t wait to give it a try!

    • The avocado was just because we had them from the share. I think it would have worked even better if I had added a bit more spice to the beans and greens. But it’s hard to go wrong with avocados generally, I think!

Leave a Reply

