Roast Broccoli

Roast broccoli is really basic, but as a concept it has gotten some love on the interwebs, most notably as variations on Ina Garten’s recipe. I think I first spotted it on Amateur Gourmet (check out that blogroll down there on the right!), where I was tickled to see the suggestion that “kids would eat their broccoli if it was prepared like this.” This is so obviously the opinion of a childless person. As any good parent knows, you kid may eat miso straight from the jar and preserved lemons like nobody’s business, but that has absolutely no bearing whatsoever on whether or not something as objectively delicious as roast broccoli will be seen as a treat or totally rejected.

In our house it was rejected. No matter, more for the adults.

There is nothing tricky about roasting broccoli. Chop it up, toss with oil and salt and pepper, and roast pretty high (425) for not too long (15 minutes or so). It is improved dramatically by adding chunks of garlic to the roasting pan, and even more so by a squirt of fresh lemon juice to finish the dish. Cheese or pine nuts are strictly optional, IMHO. Neither are worth the bother to me, as this is so yummy without.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in broccoli and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roast Broccoli

  1. scrumptious says:

    Yum yum yum. I am eating my roast broccoli as I read this post. 🙂 I agree with you – I mostly skip the pine nuts now as too much of a bother (and I’ve never added the cheese) and it’s still the most delicious broccoli ever. I do love the lemon zest, though. With a microplane grater it’s not much more trouble than squeezing the lemon for juice, and it adds some kind of extra note that I’m just wild about.

    I love the idea of all of us bloggers munching on our roast broccoli and reading each others’ posts about roast broccoli!

    • You’re right that the grating isn’t that much extra effort. I vow to try it next time.

      Also? I could eat broccoli like this every single day. A whole community of broccoli eating food bloggers is a good thing!

Leave a Reply

